Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Labour leader gets FG appointment

African Examiner
18 January 2012

Barely two days after organized labour called off the one week old strike
to force government to rescind the removal of petrol subsidy, Comrade
Peter Esele, President of the Trade Union Congress, TUC, one of the
organs involved in negotiations with government on how to resolve the
crisis triggered by the policy implementation, has been given a Federal

Esele who hails from Edo State contested but lost elections into the
House of Representatives on the platform of Action Congress of Nigeria,

Esele, along with seven others are to serve on a special task force to fast
track passage of the controversial Petroleum Industry Bill, PIB, before the
National Assembly.

Other members of the panel which has Senator Udoma Udo Udoma as
Chairman are Senator Tunde Ogbeha, Senator Lawan Shuaibu, Chibudom
Nwuche, Abdullahi Gumel, Habeeb Fashinro and the Legal Adviser,
Federal Ministry of Petroleum Resources.

The responsibility of the adhoc body, according to a statement in Abuja is
to lobby the National Assembly to promptly pass the Bill into law.

A statement from the Petroleum Minsitry reads:

“Following the promise made by President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan,
GCFR, earlier today, that the passage of the Petroleum Industry Bill (PIB)
will be “given accelerated attention”, the Honorable Minister of Petroleum
Resources, Mrs. Diezani Alison-Madueke, has today set up a bi-partisan
Special PIB Task Force to work with the Ministry to further facilitate the
quick passage of the PIB.

Members of the Special PIB Task Force are:

1.       Senator Udoma Udo Edoma                    Chairman
2.       Senator Tunde Ogbeha                            Member
3.       Senator Lawan Shuaibu                           Member
4.       Honourable Chibudom Nwuche                 Member
5.       Honourable Abdulahi Gumel                     Member
6.       Honourable Habeeb Fashinro                    Member
7.       Mr. Peter Esele (President, TUC)              Member
8.       Legal Adviser, FMPR                               Secretary

The Special PIB Task Force will be inaugurated on Thursday, January
19th at 10am in the Federal Ministry of Petroleum Resources”.

No comments:

Post a Comment