Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Boko Haram: IG posts new AIGs to 6 zones

17 November 2011

ABUJA — Two weeks after the bloody attack by the Boko Haram sect on Potiskum and Damaturu in Yobe State, the hammer has fallen on some senior Police officers with the Inspector General of Police, Mr Hafiz Ringim, ordering the posting of six new Assistant Inspectors General of Police to take over six zones while some were removed.

Vanguard had reported exclusively in the wake of the Friday, November 4, 2011 attacks, which left over 100 people dead in Damaturu, Yobe State, that heads would roll among the top hierarchy of the Nigeria Police Force as it was discovered that adequate intelligence was passed to the senior officers while the attackers obviously had a free ride into town with the Police in the states close to Yobe State doing little or nothing to stop them.

Consequently, the new Assistant Inspectors General of Police and their new sones are: AIG Mohammed D. Abubakar, formerly the AIG in charge Zone 6, Calabar, is to take over as AIG Zone 12, Bauchi, the area of responsibility of Boko Haram states; AIG Christopher Ola, formerly Commandant, Police Staff College, Jos, takes over as the AIG Zone 2 Lagos, while AIG Johnson Morenike, formerly in charge Police Academy (POLAC), Kano, takes over as Commandant, Police Staff College, Jos.

Others are AIG Suleiman Dauda Fakai, formerly AIG Zone 2, is now the AIG in charge of Zone 3, Yola; AIG Johnson Uzu-Egbunam, formerly AIG Zone 12, is moved to Osogbo as the AIG in charge Zone 11; AIG Saidu Gaya, formerly AIG Zone 11, is now the AIG in charge Zone 6, Calabar.

No comments:

Post a Comment