Monday, June 27, 2011

Twelve women make Jonathan’s ministerial list

27 June 2011

There will be at least 12 female ministers in the new federal cabinet, following the finalization of the first batch of ministerial appointees. A copy of the list of names for the first batch made available to NEXT shows that almost a third of the new ministers will be women.

The list includes names of some returning and newly appointed ministers from all the different states and geopolitical zones.

For the first time, some names on the list have been designated with some recommended portfolios, however many will still have no idea what job they are being considered for.

Diezani Alison-Madueke, who is set to make a controversial return to the executive council, is likely to retain the petroleum portfolio. Bello Haliru Mohammed, another controversial figure is in line to be handed the highly sensitive defence portfolio. Ruqqayatu Rufai and Mohammed Bello Adoke will retain the education and justice portfolios respectively.

NEXT had exclusively reported that Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala would be given her old job as finance minister but with many added responsibilities and powers to drive economic reform. Olusegun Aganga, the immediate past finance minister, returns to the cabinet but will be considered for minister of commerce.

No comments:

Post a Comment