Sunday, February 12, 2012

Bayelsa guber Poll : PDP leads in 5 LGAs

Note: Remaining LGAs Southern Ijaw, Yenagoa, and Brass have not yet reported results.
12 February 2012

PDP-239,636 votes, CAP -7,606,AC N-4,723

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has released the results of the governorship election in five out of the eight Local Government Councils in Bayelsa State with the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), leading with 239,636 votes.

The Change for Advocacy Party (CAP)  follows at a distance with 7,606 votes and the Action Congress of Nigeria with 4,723 votes. Also trailing at fourth positin is the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC).

The five Local Government Areas declared are Sagbama, Yenagoa, Kolokuma-Opokuma, Ogbia and Nembe.

The Returning Officers, including the State Resident Officer, Mr. Edwin Nwataleri said the other three councils of Brass, Southern Ijaw and Ekeremor Local Government are being expected as they were being conveyed to the collation centre by an helicopter and asked everyone to reconvened by 2pm.

A break down of the votes scored by the parties are; Ogbia local government with 70,827 registered voters,  a total of 53,271 voters were accredited for the Saturday governorship poll.

The PDP scored 50,848 votes, followed by the CAP which polled 1,277, the ACN 1,085, CPC 151, FRDD 108 while NDP polled 11 votes.

In Sagbama council,  where Seriake Dickson hails from, out of the 69,098 voters registered 55,264 were accredited for the poll proper as the PDP polled 51, 078, CAP scored 1,738, ACN 1,388 and CPC 414.

The story was not different in Kolokuma-Opokuma council where out of the 26,201 registered voters,  19,470 according to the INEC result were accredited for the poll.

The PDP scored 18,107 followed by CAP which polled 490 votes, ACN 326 votes, and CPC 94 votes.

For the Yenagoa local government council with 133,122 registered voters and 69,986 accredited voters, the PDP scored 61,820 votes, followed by CAP 2,101 votes, ACN 1,848 and the CPC 381 votes.

In Nembe council area with 73,243 registered voters, 63,523 were accredited for the election proper.

The PDP again asserted it’s dominance in the council area polling 57,589 votes with the CAP trailing a distant second with 2000 votes followed by ACN 1076 and CPC 103 votes.

Meanwhile, the boat heading for  Apoi in Southern Ijaw capsized leading to the loss of all materials meant for Ward 15 unit 18 to 35.

According to report from the office of the Independent National Electoral Commission, the boat which was travelling from Okunbiri was also carrying seven corps members, a Supervisory Polling Officer, three policemen, two soldiers.

One of the victims who said they narrowly escaped death adding that all their valuables including materials meant for the election were destroyed.

No comments:

Post a Comment