Monday, February 13, 2012

Bayelsa: Dickson wins as INEC results show massive turnout

13 February 2012

LAGOS — Member of the House of Representatives from Bayelsa State, Serikae Dickson was yesterday returned as the next Governor of the State on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

Dickson was adjudged the winner of the votes having polled a total of 417, 500 votes out of the 467,004 votes cast, representing 89% of total votes cast in the Saturday election.

Governor-elect of Bayelsa State, Henry Dickson (middle) acknowledging cheers from supporters at his home after his victory at the 2012 Bayelsa State Governorship election in Yenagoa, Bayelsa, yesterday. Photo: Nwankpa Chijioke
The turnout of voters in the state was put at 72% by the Returning Officer for the election and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Port-Harcourt, Prof Joseph Ajienka.

The turnout as announced yesterday was against the trend of earlier reports at the end of the voting which characterized the election as being marred by voters’ apathy.

No comments:

Post a Comment