Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Terrorism: FG places seven countries on watch list

26 September 2011

The Federal Government has drawn up a terrorism watch list similar to the one maintained by some developed countries. Travelers who arrived from or are going to the countries on the list would receive special attention by the security agencies, and the Nigeria Immigration Service.

THE PUNCH learnt over the weekend that the countries on the list were Somalia, Pakistan, Yemen, Sudan, Niger, Chad and Mauritania.

A source in government who spoke to one of our correspondents said government had directed all its security and border agencies to put people whose travelling itinerary included any of these countries under watch.

No comments:

Post a Comment